Ask the Expert

What is the MCSA exam about


    Requires Free Membership to View

the MCSA exam about and if one has the MCSE certification, does that person need to do MCSA?
Dear Simi:
Actually, 4 exams are required for the MCSA:
  1. 70-210 or 70-270: Windows client exam (Win2K Pro or XP Pro, respectively)
  2. 70-215 or 70-275: Windows server exam (Win2K Pro or Server .NET, respectively)
  3. 70-218 or 70-278: Windows Network management (ditto above)
  4. One elective, which may even be A+ and Network+ or A+ and Server+

    See for all the gory details.

    But if you already have an MCSE, there's no compelling reason to also obtain an MCSA (though you can probably do so by taking only the 70-218 exam).


    This was first published in August 2002

There are Comments. Add yours.

TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: