Ask the Expert

Security of each level of the OSI model

What kind of security is associated with each level of the OSI model?

    Requires Free Membership to View

The OSI reference model for networking (ISO 7498-1) is designed around seven layers arranged in a stack. The OSI security architecture reference model (ISO 7498-2) is also designed around seven layers, reflecting a high level view of the different requirements within network security.


Layers (ISO 7498-1) ISO 7498-2 Security Model
Application Authentication
Presentation Access Control
Session secon Non-Repudiation
Transport Data Integrity
Network Confidentiality
Data Link Assurance/Availability
Physical Notarization / Signature

This was first published in August 2005

There are Comments. Add yours.

TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: