Ask the Expert

OSI model: List of some attacks

What type of security is associated with each layer of the OSI Model?

    Requires Free Membership to View

Dear Jeffrey:
Yes, as you may know, the OSI model consists of 7 layers (Physical, Data Link, Network, Transport, Session, Presentation, and Application). The type of security associated with each layer is defined better by asking what potential attacks exist at each layer; below is a list of some of the attacks:

Application attacks - Distributed DoS (DDoS) and spoofing
Presentation attacks - DDoS and spoofing
Session attacks - DDoS and spoofing
Transport attacks - DoS and hijacking
Network attacks - Spoofing of IP & poisoning of ARP
Data Link attacks - Overload of MAC table and port
Physical attacks - Sniffing and severing of backbone

Hope this provided the information you needed.
Take care,

This was first published in September 2004

There are Comments. Add yours.

TIP: Want to include a code block in your comment? Use <pre> or <code> tags around the desired text. Ex: <code>insert code</code>

REGISTER or login:

Forgot Password?
By submitting you agree to receive email from TechTarget and its partners. If you reside outside of the United States, you consent to having your personal data transferred to and processed in the United States. Privacy
Sort by: OldestNewest

Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: