Must I pass all five CCSP exams within two years?

Must I pass all five CCSP exams within two years? As I understand, passing two of the exams gives makes me a "qualified specialist." Is this right?
You are correct that taking the SECUR exam along with either the VPN, IDS or PIX exams will qualify you as a VPN, IDS, or PIX Specialist, respectively. Those particular certification are valid for only two years. However, the CCSP exams are a collection of those four exams plus the SAFE exam, which do not mandate any time restriction per se. Thus, you can take the exams at your own pace as long as Cisco does not revise the exams in that timeframe. If that occurs, they will have a grace period for some time (usually at least 6 months) in which you can apply the older exams to the revved CCSP certification.
This was first published in September 2005

Dig deeper on Networking Certs and Careers



Enjoy the benefits of Pro+ membership, learn more and join.

Have a question for an expert?

Please add a title for your question

Get answers from a TechTarget expert on whatever's puzzling you.

You will be able to add details on the next page.



Forgot Password?

No problem! Submit your e-mail address below. We'll send you an email containing your password.

Your password has been sent to: