If I power cycle the Cisco 2600, what information regarding the running configuration (interface configuration) do I stand to lose?
If you save the configuration before power cycling the router, then you will not lose anything
at all. Use the following command in the privileged exec mode to save the running configuration on
Cisco router: copy running-config startup-config. If you do not save the configuration before
rebooting the router, then you will loose all the configuration information since you last saved
the running config on the router (so if you have never saved the config, then the router will have
no config after reboot).
This was first published in July 2004